Swervedriver release new album, ‘I Wasn’t Born To Lose You’

I Wasn't Born to Lose You is the fifth studio album by Swervedriver
I Wasn't Born to Lose You is the fifth studio album by Swervedriver

I Wasn’t Born to Lose You is the fifth studio album by Swervedriver. It is the band’s first album in 17 years, since 1998’s 99th Dream and is set for release on 3rd March on Cherry Red Records.


In 1990 London’s indie-rock guitar scene was developing a distinctive new psychedelic sound: swirling, dreamy and mysterious. Swervedriver had the liquid distortion of shoegaze combined with the cool swagger of Hüsker Dü, Sonic Youth, and Dinosaur Jr – giving them a unique sound and attitude. They were equalled burdened with comparisons to grunge and the shoegazer scenes.  But Swervedriver existed apart from any fad or ‘scene’.

Originally from Oxford, guitarists Adam Franklin and Jimmy Hartridge, bassist Adi Vines and drummer Graham Bonnar signed to Alan McGee’s Creation Records and released three EPs, Son of Mustang Ford, Rave Down, and Sandblasted before their debut album, Raise, in 1991.

After recording their fourth full-length 1998’s 99th Dream, the energy was dissipating and they imploded at the end of an Australian tour.  Going their separate ways – Adam Franklin moved to the US and released solo albums with his band Bolts of Melody.

Swervedriver reformed in 2007 and played the Coachella Festival in 2008. In 2013 they released their  first single in 15 years, Deep Wound. Spin Magazine called it a “warm, confidently roiling return” with Mojo adding “those same distorted pop sensibilities remain reassuringly intact” and the band debuted the song on “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” in the US.


I Wasn’t Born to Lose You is Swervedriver’s first album in 18 years. Recorded at legendary studios Birdland in Melbourne, and Konk in London the album features Deep Wound, along with the recent single Setting Sun.

Swervedriver – I Wasn’t Born to Lose You Tracklisting:

1.    Autodidact
2.    Last Rites
3.    For A Day Like Tomorrow
4.    Setting Sun
5.    Everso
6.    English Subtitles
7.    Red Queen Arms Race
8.    Deep Wound
9.    Lone Star
10.  I Wonder?

Swervedriver release  ‘I Wasn’t Born To Lose You’ on 3rd March 2015 via Cherry Red Records.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *