Social Distortion new album Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes

Social Distortion -photo Danny Clinch
Social Distortion -photo Danny Clinch

Social Distortion will release their latest album Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes on January 17th, their first release in just over six years.

As follow up to the acclaimed Sex, Love and Rock ‘n’ Roll, Hard Times finds the band further cementing their position amongst rocks elite, dipping into the haunted landscapes of Hank Williams on the one hand and summoning up the rock swagger of  pre-Exile era Rolling Stones on the other.

As a taster for the new album Social Distortion have released the first single Machine Gun Blues, a sneering modern day Bonnie & Clyde outlaw anthem which encompasses the albums rebellious attitude.

Social Distortion – Machine Gun Blues


Among the highlights of Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes the band set the tone for the album with the grooving instrumental intro Road Zombie which segues into what may just be their best song to date – California (Hustle and Flow) a nod to the Stones with greasy solos,  gospel backing singers and a whole stack of attitude.

Singer Mike Ness says;

“California (Hustle and Flow) was an early idea last year. It started out as pretty much a roots rocker, ended up morphing into kind of a tribute to the Stones.  Also if you listen to the opening line it’s third person, and it’s talking about some kid with an attitude and dyed jet black hair and motorcycle boots and running around like he don’t care. It basically chronicles my career in music.  Just how it started out, how rock n roll has been good to me…And I’d like to think I’ve been good to rock ‘n’ roll ya know.”

Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes Track Listing:
01. Road Zombie
02. California (Hustle and Flow)
03. Gimme The Sweet And Lowdown
04. Diamond In The Rough
05. Machine Gun Blues
06. Bakersfield
07. Far Side Of Nowhere
08. Alone And Forsaken
09. Writing On The Wall
10. Cant Take it with You
11. Still Alive

Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes will be released on LP, CD as well as digitally.

For further information visit the Social Distortion MySpace.



1 thought on “Social Distortion new album Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *