Rudimental – Home – Debut Album Review and UK Tour Dates

It seems an age since being seduced by the incredibly soulful voice of John Newman on Feel the Love a number one debut single for London band Rudimental. A steady flow of releases from the album Home have followed, all sounding good enough for me to be among the many eagerly anticipating their debut album.

It doesn’t disappoint. Featuring the singles Feel the Love, Not Giving In, Hell Could Freeze (free mp3) and the most recent stonking number one hit Waiting All Night featuring the wonderful voice of Ella Eyre.

Rudimental are a four piece collective based in London who have built a strong reputation on the live circuit as well as winning critical acclaim for the unique music they are producing. A kind of latter day Massive Attack the band appear to have no problem at all in attracting some top voices.

John Newman, Ella Eyre and Angel Haze are all new names to me but each has left a mark on me through their tracks on Home. Despite the trademark clashing live instruments and rapid beats, the soulful vocals from the various artists on Home invariably evoke an almost charming old school flavour.

It is hard to pick out stand out tracks as after a couple of listens the whole thing just flows like a personal playlist, but if pushed I would say Hell Could Freeze featuring New York rapper Angel Haze, a fantastic bitter sweet street record, and surprisingly, as I didn’t like it on first hearing Spoons featuring MNEK and Syron.

Just put it on and party!

Home is the debut album from Rudimental and is available in all formats now.

Home by Rudimental tracklisting:
1. Home
2. Feel The Love ft. John Newman
3. Right Here ft. Foxes
4. Hell Could Freeze ft. Angel Haze
5. Spoons ft. MNEK & Syron
6. Hide ft. Sinead Harnett
7. Powerless
8. More Than Anything ft. Emeli Sandé
9. Not Giving In ft. John Newman & Alex Clare
10. Baby ft. MNEK & Sinead Harnett
11. Waiting All Night ft. Ella Eyre
12. Free ft. Emeli Sandé

Additional tracks on deluxe version

13. Give You Up (ft Alex Clare)

14. Alien Bashment

15. Solo (ft Ella Eyre & Mark Crown)

16. Feel The Love Rudimental VIP (ft John Newman)

Rudimental are:

Piers Aggett, Amir Amor, Kesi Dryden and Leon Rolle.

Following a recent sold out UK tour Rudimental will be appearing at T in the Park, Global Gathering,Bestival and Glastonbury festivals, with more to be announced soon.


8th October – Leeds O2 Academy

11th October – Newcastle O2 Academy

14th October – Bristol O2 Academy

15th October – Bournemouth O2 Academy

17th October – Birmingham O2 Academy

18th October – London Brixton O2 Academy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *