Buzzin UK Music Blog Music - rock - indie - pop - music reviews - music news

Buzzin Music

John Foxx Live @ The Roundhouse, London – live review

Terry Lane - Monday 07.06.10, 14:38pm

John Foxx @ The Roundhouse, June 2010

John Foxx @ The Roundhouse, June 2010 photo: Simon Pollock

Not normally one for retro gigs, I was drawn to this as soon as I was aware John Foxx would be playing a special concert at the prestigious Roundhouse theatre to celebrate 30 years since the original release of his ground-breaking debut solo album, Metamatic. For this special occasion John Foxx would be accompanied on stage by special guests and a bank of analogue-only synthesizers.

The mood was set with a DJ set from Gary Numan & Ade Fenton of late 1970’s and early 1980’s electronic music, the likes of Nag Nag Nag by Cabaret Voltaire, Are Friends Electric by Tubeway Army and Memorabilia by Soft Cell filled the Roundhouse, a perfect choice of venue.

John Foxx was greeted by very enthusiastic applause and took centre-stage behind a bank of synthesizers. His set was in three-parts; the first being songs from Metamatic, early singles and b-sides from that era. Burning Car, This Town, He’s A Liquid, No One Driving, and of course Underpass (or as one of my friends used to sing ‘Underpants’).

The crowd were mesmerised by the almost motionless John Foxx as he orchestrated proceedings from the front of the stage while a large screen played fitting monochrome accompaniment to analogue songs.

For the second part of the set Foxx introduced Louis Gordon, and played songs from their collaborations from albums from the mid-1990’s. Gordon found it hard to hide his excitement but it was clear the audience were here to hear older John Foxx tracks.

With Underpass already played, the final part of the show had to be something special, and it was. Joining John Foxx on stage to play three songs was original Ultravox guitarist Robin Simon. The crowd went mad for Dislocation, Quiet Man and Slow Motion from the 1978 album ‘Systems of Romance’.

Like his music, John Foxx has aged well. Away from commercial pandering, Top of the Pops limelight and synth pop comings and goings, John Foxx decided to turn his back on commercial success after Metamatic; a move that kept his dignity and fan base intact. Unlike Midge Ure’s Ultravox and the smash hits world of Gary Numan, John Foxx was seen as more thought-provoking and serious about his musical output.

Now, thirty years on, at the Roundhouse, his music lived on.

Del.icio.us Digg Technorati Blinklist Furl Reddit
Comments (5)

Tags: Electronic Music · Live Music · Review · Synth Pop


  • No Related Post






5 comments so far

  • 1 John Allen // Jun 7, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Gary Numan did not, in fact, place a DJ set before John Foxx – he turned up on stage at 11.15pm by which time the arena was half empty and a lot of us had felt short changed.

    Foxx was brilliant tho.

  • 2 Terry Lane // Jun 7, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Hi John

    Apologies. I was informed by the PR company that Gary Numan & Ade Fenton would play a DJ set before John Foxx, so assumed it was him, as I too didn’t stay around after John Foxx’s excellent set.

  • 3 Rob // Jun 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Short changed is not the word. Clearly you werent there. The show started late, it was disorganised and frankly failed to live up to the hype. A lot of long faces left with us at the same time after Foxx’s encore. Gary Numan apparently graced the stage after 11:15pm. As with us, a lot of the crowd had to leave for fear of missing the last train home. I hope they had more respect for the fans at the after show party, or did they turn up late or go home early because they couldnt be bothered.

  • 4 Terry Lane // Jun 11, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Rob, I was there & enjoyed the show. I turned up for John Foxx & like you had to leave sharpish for a last train home.

    I included the piece about Gary Numan as I was told he was DJing.

    Surprised you didn’t like the show, I thought it looked & sounded great.

  • 5 Chris Bairstow // Jun 16, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Really enjoyed the show. Can’t believe it’s 30 years since iIbought the album.

    It was great to hear some very loud, dirty, raw electronic sounds.

    My wife lasted about 3 songs before leaving for the bar and join all the other, mainly woman, who were not really into it.

    Can’t wait to see Gary Numan doing a full gig rather than just touching an ipad.

Leave a Comment

Home | Archives | Blog For Buzzin Media | Advertise | About | Contact