Wild Billy Childish & CTMF… and Kylie Minogue

Wild Billy Childish & CTMF - SQ1The new album from Wild Billy Childish & CTMF is scheduled for release on 20th May, and is released on Damaged Goods Records by way of CD or the choice of 3 different colours of green vinyl – light green, mid-green, and dark green.

‘the reason we didn’t sound like the Smiths is because we wanted to sound like this’

No less than 40 years ago, Billy Childish, then a 16 year old working in Chatham dockyard, imagined a group called ‘the Chatham Forts’, and so started a journey through punk rock from 1977 to now.

‘people think they know me, but they don’t know me’

No one, including Billy Childish himself appear to know exactly how many albums he has released.  But the release of Wild Billy Childish & CTMF’s SQ 1 brings it to around 150th, or thereabouts.

SQ 1 could be seen as a manifesto of punk rock defiance, a celebration of musical independence or simply a true document homemade rock and roll delivered as art, not commerce.

The lead single to be taken from the forthcoming album is ‘Kylie‘.

‘Here’s a story ’bout Kylie Minogue.  She’s only tiny, so I’ve been told.  She rang me up she said can I use your poetry, I said help y’self girl, it’s all for free.’

Welsh indie rockers The Cradles release new single, Ideal Girl

Welsh indie rock band The Cradles are set to release their new single Ideal Girl
The Cradles

Welsh indie rock band The Cradles are set to release their new single Ideal Girl out on March 25th via Solva Records.

Ideal Girl tackles universal themes of wallowing in self-pity as one blindly searches for love and companionship. The track kicks off with a ‘Misirlou’ style surf-rock guitar riff before building into a undeniably catchy chorus akin to the likes of early Arctic Monkeys and The Libertines. There are elements of The Kinks and The Beatles circa Hamburg era, too.

Lead singer Joe Norman’s vocals water tight throughout, as he emotes an almost effortless feeling, whilst still managing to maintain a gritty yet dynamic rock sound.


Having met at school in Cardiff in 2012, The Cradles quickly started to make a name for themselves on the local music scene in Wales. Band members Joe Norman (vocals), Kieran O’Brien (guitar), Luke Haines (bass) and brothers Toby Andrews (guitar) and Declan Andrews (drums) have been praised for their live performances in particular, cutting their teeth and honing their set while supporting the likes of Pretty Vicious and The Bohicas.

The Cradles have received support from the likes of BBC 6Music’s Tom Robinson, Radio X’s John Kennedy, BBC Radio Wales’ Adam Walton and Bethan Elfyn alongside a variety of online websites and blogs. As well as landing support slots, the five piece have also played a number of festivals including Swn Festival, X Music Festival and they will be supporting Bill Ryder-Jones this March. The Cradles are eager to show that they are not just another indie rock band, rather they are a band of unique personalities who’s mandate is to write and perform good old-fashioned rock and roll with a modern twist.

Ideal Girl by The Cradles is out on March 25th 2016 via Solva Records.

New single & album from electro pop duo Me And My Drummer

Berlin based electro pop duo Me And My Drummer
Berlin based electro pop duo Me And My Drummer

Berlin based electro pop duo Me And My Drummer are set to release second single, Pentonville Road,  from their forthcoming album Love Is A Fridge, out February 12th 2016 via Sinnbus.

Pentonville Road is “about a woman is looking into a photo album and she sees all the snapshots of a past relationship. Photos of places they have been together and of people the two have met – it’s about that sentimental feeling you get when you look back to a time that is over,” say the band.

New album Love is a Fridge is ten perfect tracks nothing short of an electropop masterpiece as Matze Pröllochs and Brandi traverse a wide and varied soundscape. Her vocals are stronger than ever, enough to match the soulful electropop tones of Florence Welch or Jessie Ware. An album that musically covers a huge range of styles and ideas maintaining its bold feel and flavour for experimentation all the way through. If you imagine Bat For Lashes meets Lykki Li you’re close, but there’s something somewhat celestial about Me And My Drummer that sets them apart.

Love is a Fridge is due for release on February 12th 2016 via Sinnbus.

Watch Me And My Drummer’s video for the previous single Blue Splinter View


The Senior Service debut single ‘Depth Charge’ on Damaged Goods

'Depth Charge' is the forthcoming debut single by The Senior Service
'Depth Charge' is the forthcoming debut single by The Senior Service

The Senior Service are Jon Barker (hammond organ), Graham Day (guitar), Darryl Hartley (bass guitar) &
Wolf Howard (drums & percussion). They are latest band to burst forth from the Medway Music Scene in Rochester, Kent.

The four have been close friends for many years and have played in several Medway-based groups including The Prisoners, The Daggermen, The James Taylor Quartet, Graham Day & The Forefathers, The Prime Movers and the wonderfully named Disney Firetruck.  All four are Medway born and bred and have always been into film themes and instrumental music.  Amongst their influences are John Barry, Barry Gray, Booker T and the MGs, Ennio Morricone and The Small Faces.

“We got together to play instrumental covers because I happened to have bought a Hammond organ” says Jon Barker, “but we dropped that idea before we played a note and quickly moved onto our own stuff.”


The Senior Service have been busy recording at Borstal Road Studios (situated in Jon’s basement).  To mark the release of the forthcoming debut single ‘Depth Charge‘ on Damaged Goods, the band will be playing a Single Launch Gig at The Half Moon in Putney on Saturday, 30th January 2016.  The band will be making their first ever live appearance along with very special guests French Boutik and Of Arrowe Hill.

‘Depth Charge’ by The Senior Service is scheduled for release on 8th January 2016 on Damaged Goods as a 7″ vinyl & digital download, Cat No: DAMGOOD447.

The Dirty Blonde new single, Goodbye: Tiny Fractures

Goodbye: Tiny Fractures is the first single from upcoming album “Sugarmilk” by Glasgow based four piece The Dirty Blonde.

With an intro that’s likely to point your expectations to a standard cheeky indie pop tune, The Dirty Blonde have pulled off an excellent bluff with their new single ‘Goodbye: Tiny Fractures’.


As soon as front man Danny Gallagher’s vocals kick in, followed by guitar melodies that switch from treble soaked sunshine, to dirty distorted fuzz. We’d be lying if we didn’t admit to taking a mental double take.

The only criticism we can really level at the single is that the band’s previous release, the free download ‘Take You Under’, has a much more accomplished sound. That’s not to completely tear apart Goodbye: Tiny Fractures’, we just love the sheer 1990s art-rock of ‘Take You Under’ and were hoping for more of the same.


The Dirty Blonde have shown they are capable of writing solid, alternative rock tunes that exercise your speakers and your ears, along with more accessible pop rock gems. It will be interesting to see which road they choose for future releases.

Goodbye:Tiny Fractures is released by The Dirty Blonde via Two States Recording.