Single Review – Lightspeed Champion

Lightspeed Champion – Galaxy of the Lost (Domino Records)

Appearances can be deceptive. Who’d have thought former Test Icicle Dev Hynes would return with a bittersweet pop melody that borrows more from The Lightning Seeds than from anything his previous band produced?

‘Galaxy of the Lost’ slowly builds from a gentle guitar-and-vocal intro into a catchy pop tune that’s hard to get out of your head. Listen closely to the lyrics and they reveal a song about relationship turmoil and the perils of alcohol. “As we kiss and I’m sick in your mouth”. Well, we’ve all been there….

I’m not sure Dev’s new accessible indie pop will see him regain the level of cult status that the Icicles achieved. But if this song’s anything to go by, he’ll certainly get more radio play and fans who don’t have to be home in time for Blue Peter.

Galaxy Of The Lost by Lightspeed Champion is released on 12th May on Domino Records.



Scarlett Johansson – Falling Down

Scarlett Johansson releases her first single Falling Down on May 5th.

The track is taken from the actresses forthcoming album Wherever I Lay My Head, a collection of Tom Waits songs due for release on May 19th.

It is a strange choice for anyone to undertake as Tom Waits has is own unique songwriting and vocal style with covers best suited to the gravelly voiced rock brigade.

On Falling Down however Johansson has succeeded in making a beautifully haunting and worthy version of the track that fully deserves the attention that will no doubt follow its release.

Scarlett Johansson – Falling Down


Video for new Elbow single

We are pleased to be able to offer our readers a chance to see the brand new promotional video for Elbow’s forthcoming single, One Day Like This.

The single is not out until 2nd June, and follows their previous single, Grounds For Divorce.

Both singles are taken from the album Seldom Seen Kid, which was released in March.

For news on Elbow visit their official website,, or have fun playing with the Elbow music cube on


Animal Collective – Water Curses promo video

The new Animal Collective album is one of our favourites here in the Buzzin Music office.

See the new promo video for the wonderful new Animal Collective single, Water Curses.

Before you contact us, it’s supposed to look like that – don’t us why!


The 4 track Water Curses EP by Animal Collective is out on 5th May on Domino Records