Horse Guards Parade new album ‘Ten Songs’ + free mp3 download

Horse Guards Parade - Ten Songs
Horse Guards Parade - Ten Songs

Several years in the making, the Horse Guards Parade are about to release their carefully honed debut album Ten Songs, a collection of  quirky and quintessentially British pop tunes written with a light comic touch.

It is no surprise to learn that the band have recently been touring in support of the likes of Jarvis Cocker and Pavement, there are similarities to be heard in parts of the Horse Guards Parades debut.

It’s the strength of the band’s songs that has attracted regular airtime on BBC 6 Music and BBC Radio 2 among others, completing sessions for BBC introducing and Simon Mayo along the way.

The band was also asked to play at the Pavement curated All Tomorrow’s Party festival, as well as supporting the iconic band for a show at Glasgow’s Barrowlands. There’s certainly something of Stephen Malkmus’ lyrical sharpness to the record, although Waudby claims he is just as inspired by literary influences;

“It’s mainly writers such as Henry Miller, Charles Bukowski, Brett Easton Ellis and Larkin who inspire my lyrics, but I also get inspired by the work of artists, film makers and musicians from Chuck Close to Lars Von Trier to Neil Young. They’re all people who create uncompromising, beautiful and exciting art. They all make you feel something, whether you like that feeling or not.”

Listen and download one of the stand out tracks on the album Ten Songs, this track is amusingly titled ‘She Looked Like A Henry Moore.’


The Horse Guards Parade debut album Ten Songs is released on April 11th



Alt. rockers Smile’s brilliant debut EP ‘Closer’


Formed by five friends from Reading and London in 2009, Smile have featured on national radio stations XFM and BBC 6Music, winning listeners over with a session recorded for the Tom Robinson Show.

The band are a refreshing update of some of alternative rock’s true greats, referencing everyone from Afghan Whigs to Dinosaur Jr. while creating a personality entirely of their own.

Smile release their excellent debut EP ‘Closer’ on April 11th and the band are offering a free download of the title track right here:


Smile singer Chris Relevitch said:

“’The song ‘Closer’ is a break up song; it’s actually very bitter. I didn’t want to turn it into anything too crappy, so I tried to make it as direct and honest as possible, which ended up with me singing the most infantile, dumb shit. Stuff that I would probably say if I were drunk, which I was. It’s a healing process, the hurt process. ‘Nightlife’ is an ode to failed relationships and their worth in reminding us how much of a dick we can all be. Lord Lucan was a dick, he tried to kill his wife but ended up killing the nanny instead.”

Live Dates:

March 28th – London, The Windmill

April 7th – London, The Monarch

April 13th – Reading, The Oakford Social Club



The Goldberg Sisters self titled album and latest video/single Shush

The Goldberg Sisters
The Goldberg Sisters

Perhaps best known for saving Private Ryan in the Hollywood blockbuster movie, actor Adam Goldberg is the man behind The Goldberg Sisters whose self titled album will be released on April 11th.

The Goldberg Sisters is the latest moniker for Adam’s musical output, he has previously released material as LANdy but has changed the artist name to avoid copyright infringements with a famous Brandy manufacturer.

The Goldberg Sisters is an album which encompasses everything from psychedelic to the “psychotropic” and explores themes from the depressing to the negligibly, less depressing, and it is Goldberg’s lofty ambition that this new album will put a wiggle in your step and a shot of adrenaline in your arm.

There are of course no sisters in the band, Goldberg explains; “I wanted to be in a sister band because there are a lot of cool sister bands lately, so I was basically trying to jump on the bandwagon. And I have two half-sisters whose last names are Goldberg. They don’t appear on the record, but they are there in spirit.”

You get the impression that Goldberg is his own man and his music too is about as unique as it gets, he manages to build his music in unfamiliar territory and clearly has a taste for the perverse- choosing to shoot the video for the track Shush on an iPhone, in one take.

The Goldberg Sisters – Shush


If you like Shush, get the free download of The Goldberg Sisters track Don’t Grow, here.

The Goldberg Sisters self titled album, tracklisting:

01. The Room
02. Mother Please (The World Is Not Our Home
03. Shush
04. Don’t Grow
05. You’re Beautiful When You Die
06. Erik Erikson
07. Third Person Blues
08. The Difference Between
09. The Skin Of the Patriot (Blame It on Your Youth)
10. The Heart Grows Fonder

The Goldberg Sisters brand new single Shush is released on March 28th with the self titled album to follow on April 11th.



Ghosts – Excellent track from Big Sleep

Big Sleep
Big Sleep

I have to admit to knowing very little about the band Big Sleep, other than they are from Manchester and appear to be quite elusive.

Unlike most bands these days Big Sleep do not appear to embrace the social media networks such as Facebook and Twitter and the like, but fair to say that they have a video out that has racked up well over 30,000 hits in a month on YouTube.

The track Ghosts also made it onto the Music Week playlist who described the song as ‘soaring, melodically ambitious guitar-driven pop’.

Whatever their background Big Sleep are causing a bit of a buzz, not only with the song Ghosts but also on their current UK tour supporting The Comets, with many fans commenting that Big Sleep are something really special as a live band.

If you are in Newcastle at the weekend check them out at Newcastle Uni on February 26th where they will be performing along with The Comets, who are quite brilliant themselves.

Big Sleep – Ghosts


You can download the demo version of Ghosts here:




Dum Dum Girls – He Gets Me High EP due for release + download the title track

Currently busy in the studio working on the follow up to last years brilliant debut album I Will Be, the wonderful Dum Dum Girls have found time to release a brand new EP He Gets Me High, which will be available on February 28th as a CD, 12″ vinyl and digital download.

The EP provides a taster for the second album and finds Dum Dum Girls moving away from the lo-fi bedroom pop of their debut and heading towards a punkier pop rock sound.

Check out the lead track from the EP He Gets Me High below, the song is being offered as a free download.


The new tracks are produced by the legendary songwriter and producer Richard Gottehrer who has previously worked with Blondie and the GoGo’s as well as writing the hit songs My Boyfriend’s Back and I Want Candy. He is ably assisted on the production by lead Dum Dum Girl Dee Dee and Sune Rose Wagner from the Ravonettes.

He Gets Me High EP Tracklisting:

1.Wrong Feels Right
2. He Gets Me High
3. Take Care of My Baby
4. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out (Smiths cover)

Following the release of the debut album, Dum Dum Girls embarked on a non stop schedule of touring in 2010, appearing with the likes of Vampire Weekend, Beach House, MGMT, Male Bonding and The Crocodiles.

This year already promises to be just as hectic with the band touring the US and Canada and arriving in the UK  at the end of March for a handful of dates here and in Ireland.

31-Mar UK Manchester  Deaf Institute
01-Apr IRE Dublin  Whelans
02-Apr UK Belfast  Black Box
03-Apr UK Glasgow  Stereo
04-Apr UK Leeds  Brudenell Social
05-Apr UK London  Dingwalls
06-Apr UK Brighton  Komedia