65daysofstatic – No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe

65daysofstatic - No Man's Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe 65daysofstatic release a new album on 5th August. No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe is the official soundtrack to the computer game, No Man’s Sky.

65daysofstatic are Paul Wolinski, Joe Shrewsbury, Rob Jones and Simon Wright. They were formed in Sheffield in 2001. Avoiding the confines of genres such as post-rock nonsense has seen the group continue to evolve over the course of the past 5 years on their own terms, treading their own path. At times their instrumentals are full of serene beauty and colour. But equally, they employ brutally sonic attacks on the senses. 65daysofstatic have developed a unique sound with a broad aural palette and a delight in mashing the extremes of noise rock guitars and electronica experimentalism with crashing beats and solid rhythms.

Their debut album, The Fall of Math, was released in 2004 and received wide critical acclaim. Reviewing the album for Drowned In Sound, Thomas Blatchford wrote: “an album that can retain the dynamics, fraught tension and climactic explosiveness of its peers and influences, whilst still sounding like one of the most urgent and direct long-player releases of the year.”

’No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe’ contains 10 new songs that make up the official soundtrack for the computer game, along with an additional six beautifully colourful ‘soundscapes’, exclusive to this release. The album presents a restless, overwhelming experience. ’No Man’s Sky’ is full of space, dense noise, at times serene, at others archaic. This is sublime music for post-acid dripping science fiction played out in an unknown galaxy. The album conjures up the beauty and loneliness of space and is everything that you would expect from a 65daysofstatic album of epic proportions. Played loud, with no video game distraction, No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe is like a powerful techno-coloured acid trip in space.


65daysofstatic have previously released five studio albums, The Fall of Math , One Time for All Time, The Destruction of Small Ideas, We Were Exploding Anyway and Wild Light; and one other soundtrack, Silent Running released in 2011 – an alternate soundtrack to the 1972 science fiction film of the same name, commissioned by Glasgow Film Festival.

65daysofstatic – No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe is released on 5th August 2016 as a digital download, 2x CD, 2x vinyl album & 4x vinyl album deluxe boxset.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *